Usenet Memories and a Recipe

I was reading Writing for the Web A Practical Guide by Cynthia Jeney and she gives a little history of the interwebs, I mean, the Internet. She talks about Usenet and I have such fond memories of it. Usenet and the World Wide Web were my playpen when I first touched a computer. You see, back in my day, waaaaaay long time ago back in in the late 70s, the only kids in high school who were allowed to see and touch a computer were the eggheads. The brainiacs. The smarty-smart pants math geniuses. Yeah, not me. I was not the brightest star in the firmament, at least not at that time. I was a late bloomer.

Anyhoodle, my Hunny introduced me to computers, Gods bless him, and it’s been a love affair ever since. One of my first forays was Usenet and rec.food.cooking. I remember being in awe as I shared recipes with people from around the world. I’m a foodie, remember? This was a seriously cool thing, well before WWW and food blogs.

I present to you for your cooking pleasure, Mexican Pot Roast. Make it, it’s a wonderful slow cooker recipe. I’ve been making it since 1995 and it’s still a staple in our house. Serve it over mashed potatoes and you will be in heaven.

MexicanPotRoast_REV

Ah, Usenet, I remember you with love.

 

 

Leave a comment